From my heart to yours

The Way Love Looks

Posted on: February 4, 2011

Today and tomorrow are my grandparents birthdays. Today my nana is 78 years old. Tomorrow my granddaddy will be 80 years old. They have been married for 62 years.

I’ll say that again…

THEY HAVE BEEN MARRIED FOR 62 YEARS!

Now I don’t know if it’s because of my age or because a lot of my classmates have recently gotten married or engaged or are talking about getting engaged, but my grandparents birthday’s are causing me to think about my future a lot. Not to say that I’m lookin to get married anytime soon, cause there are a lot of things I want to get accomplished before I’m ready for that. And besides I don’t have any potential future husbands lined up anyway. But when I think about the fact that my grandparents have been marriend for over 75% of their lives I can’t help but wonder in amazement. With the divorce rate so high now-a-days and with people just not gettin married, I think it’s safe to say that most of us don’t know couples who have been together for extended amounts of time or who do not have a divorce or two under their belts.

It would be irresponsible of me to pretend like their marriage was perfect. I’m sure that you can imagine that 62 years of marriage is quite a rollercoaster ride. I don’t know all of the details of the downs and the ones that I do know I’m not gonna share. What’s important is that no matter how many lows they hit, they always survived. And 62 years, 4 children, 7 grandchildren and 5 great grandchildren later they are still perfectly meant for each other. They bicker all the time, my granddaddy loves pickin at my nana because she makes it so easy. My nana can often be heard sayin “oh shut up Ed!” But at the end of the day they don’t even have to say “I love you” to each other because it is always seen in their actions toward each other. On a flight that the three of us took this summer they sat next to each other. Nana looped her arm through granddaddy’s and held his hand. Her head was on his shoulder as they fell asleep. I looked over and thought to myself, “that is what love looks like.” When nana fell and I had to take her to the hospital, granddaddy came and stood by her side. He just looked at her, held her hand and didn’t have to say a word. Again, I thought to myself “this is what love looks like, even after 62 years.”

I can only hope to have a fraction of what they have. 62 years is a long time and at the rate I am going, it’s not something that I can easily obtain. But what I do hope to obtain is having a man that looks at me the way my granddaddy looks at nana. I want a man to love me as much as I love him. I want a man that I can build a strong family with. I want to break the current cycle that my mom and I have of fatherless daughters. I can say that I’m enjoying bein single and enjoying the freedom that comes with being able to travel and learn more about myself.  But a part of me is still lookin forward to bein courted (old fashioned, yes I am a bit, lol).  No, I am not in any rush to get married, but I am excited to think about the possibility of that being in my future.

And hey, maybe for now, I can get my cute boy to take me out on a date ;-p

This...I Love!

3 Responses to "The Way Love Looks"

[…] talked about my grandparent’s 62 year marriage before here and I’ve never thought their marriage was based on a command-obey relationship. They are […]

Leave a Reply

